Read Oraklet by Catherine Fisher Free Online

Ebook Oraklet by Catherine Fisher read! Book Title: Oraklet
The author of the book: Catherine Fisher
Language: English
Format files: PDF
The size of the: 495 KB
Edition: Phabel
Date of issue: June 10th 2005
ISBN: 8791518946
ISBN 13: 9788791518942

Read full description of the books Oraklet:

The Oracle Betrayed sat in my tbr pile for about three years. Finally, last weekend, I brushed the dust from it (note to self: dust tbr pile more often), and actually read it.

And it was really, really good.

It takes place in an ancient Greek kind of place, where a young girl, Mirany, is one of chosen Nine who serve the Oracle. Her land is dying from drought...but though the Archon, the god-king, gives his life as a sacrifice, the drought continues.

Mirany can hear the god speaking through the Oracle. He has been reborn, and must be found. But the Oracle has been betrayed. The Speaker, most powerful of the nine servants of the Oracle, plots to install a puppet in the Archon's palace; a scheming general hungers for power. And the rain, a goddess in her own right, seems farther away then ever.

It's up to Mirany, with some unlikely allies close at hand, and the voice of the god (not always helpful) in her ear, to bring back balance...but the layers of treachery run deep, and even the brightest god has a shadow...

That's the gist of the story. I hope I made it sound enticing. Here's the breakdown of what you get:

1. Likable, believable heroine (not preternaturally brave or smart or sassy, and with no special Magical Abilities Through Which She Saves Everyone!!! She does hear the voice of the god, but that's not really due to her own specialness)
2. Nicely done archaic-Greek-type world building (although too sandy, perhaps, to be entirely Greek. Maybe a tad more Egyptian than Greek, environment-wise).
3. Cool deities
4. Engaging supporting characters
5. Utterly absorbing writing
6. Lots of scorpions (not necessarily a bonus feature)

Here's what I'm looking forward too--reading the second and third books (The Sphere of Secrets and Day of the Scarab).

This is the same Catherine Fisher of Incarceron fame, which, if you've read that, should give you some idea of the intricate twisty-ness of her storytelling. This is much more straightforward, but still complex--we, the readers, learn what's going on as Mirany does, which I appreciate.

There's nothing here that's not suitable for an upper middle grade reader--a little violence, a few scorpions, a touch of grave robbing, human sacrifice (tastefully done, in an understated way). But it's complex enough to be a satisfying read for a much older reader (that would be me).

Read Ebooks by Catherine Fisher

Read information about the author

Ebook Oraklet read Online! Catherine Fisher was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She has worked in education and archaeology and as a lecturer in creative writing at the University of Glamorgan. She is a Fellow of the Welsh Academy.

Catherine is an acclaimed poet and novelist, regularly lecturing and giving readings to groups of all ages. She leads sessions for teachers and librarians and is an experienced broadcaster and adjudicator. She lives in Newport, Gwent.

Catherine has won many awards and much critical acclaim for her work. Her poetry has appeared in leading periodicals and anthologies and her volume Immrama won the WAC Young Writers' Prize. She won the Cardiff International Poetry Competition in 1990.

Her first novel, The Conjuror's Game, was shortlisted for the Smarties Books prize and The Snow-Walker's Son for the W.H.Smith Award. Equally acclaimed is her quartet The Book of the Crow, a classic of fantasy fiction.

The Oracle, the first volume in the Oracle trilogy, blends Egyptian and Greek elements of magic and adventure and was shortlisted for the Whitbread Children's Books prize. The trilogy was an international bestseller and has appeared in over twenty languages. The Candleman won the Welsh Books Council's Tir Na n'Og Prize and Catherine was also shortlisted for the remarkable Corbenic, a modern re-inventing of the Grail legend.

Her futuristic novel Incarceron was published to widespread praise in 2007, winning the Mythopoeic Society of America's Children's Fiction Award and selected by The Times as its Children's Book of the Year. The sequel, Sapphique, was published in September 2008.

Ebooks PDF Epub

Add a comment to Oraklet

Read EBOOK Oraklet by Catherine Fisher Online free

Download PDF: oraklet.pdf Oraklet PDF